2019 RMSIR: The New Factor wins Raja Muda Cup

2019 RMSIR: The New Factor wins Raja Muda Cup

2019 RMSIR: The New Factor wins Raja Muda Cup

2019 RMSIR: The New Factor wins Raja Muda Cup

2019 RMSIR: The New Factor wins Raja Muda Cup
2019 RMSIR: The New Factor wins Raja Muda Cup

SOUTHEAST ASIA'S YACHTING MAGAZINE VOL. 15 No. 1, January - February 2020

by: Easy Branches

Malaysia - Varying wind conditions made for
some challenging sailing overall for the 30th Raja Muda
Selangor International Regatta (RMSIR) and the final day
of racing today was no exception.

The fleet began the first race of the final day with
fair winds that eventually died down as some boats were
close to the finish line, leading to differing results. The
final race in the afternoon, however, was abandoned due
to very shifty winds.

Rolf Heemskerk’s The Next Factor held on to its
lead in the racing class to go home with the overall
Class 1 title and Raja Muda Cup. Team Hollywood (Ray
Roberts) finished second place overall while former
Class 1 winner Windsikher (Sarab Singh/Nick Burns) had
to settle for third.

The Premiere class was a neck-to-neck battle
between Antipodes (Geoff Hill) and Colie (Doug Sallis)
throughout the week and today’s decider saw Antipodes
pushing on to the top to reclaim the Class 2 title and
the Jugra Cup.

In Class 3, consistent performances by Simon Piff’s
Rainbow Dream in this year’s race saw them snatch the
class title and Dato’ Abdul Aziz Ismail Challenge Trophy
early. It was then a close fight for the next two spots in
the class, with second place eventually going to Fujin –
which was helmed by HH Raja Muda Selangor, Tengku
Amir Shah – and Nijinsky (skippered by Ahmad Zohri
Abdul Rahim) finishing third.

Chris Mitchell’s Lady Bubbly also held on to its
lead in Class 5 to win the title and the Royal Langkawi
Yacht Club Cup. Second place went to Minx (Lucas van
Maarschalkerweerd) and third place to VG Offshore
(Ramasamy Menon).

Marikh (Royal Malaysian Armed Forces, skippered by
Hasani Hassan) successfully defended its Class 6 title to
retain the Eveline trophy. Tofan (Shah Azlan) came in second
while Rona (David McKeown) had to settle for third place.

In the multihull class, Java (Peter Waa) zipped ahead of
Out of the Blue II (Norma Noordin) early on to win the Class
7 title and the Westports Cup. Class 0 saw ‘Team Hollywood’
taking the class title from defending champion Windsikher.

HRH the Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris
Shah, presented the prizes to the winners in the awards
ceremony held this evening at the Royal Langkawi Yacht
Club. Prizes for the pearl jubilee regatta include the coveted
Raja Muda Cup, challenge trophies, and a miniature Raja
Muda Cup that was specially produced for the regatta’s 30th
anniversary (www.rmsir.com).

Banner advertising on easybranches network

Ads by seayachtingmagazine.com Easy Branches Network

Place Your Banner

Copyright © 2020 Web Software Development, SEO & Online Marketing by Easy Branches Co., Ltd. Jan Jansen Advertise About Us
Email: [email protected] Tel: (+66) 076 367 766
pv. start 25/01/2018